Marketing

February 22, 2009 at 5:53 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Marketing is typically an ugly word in journalism. But I also recognize its importance.

I begin with a story from historian and author Douglas Brinkley, who wrote the excellent forward for my book (also posted on my author site). I remember talking with Doug many years ago about publishing and among his sage advice was that authors need to simply sit down in the chair and write. He also said that once the book is published, you have to switch modes and focus on marketing. Well, marketing is much of what I have been doing in the past few weeks since my publisher (Ghost Road Press) sent out the review copies.

On that note, I have a promotional video for the Columbine book, which should be on my author Web site any day now. It was made by documentary filmmaker Wayne Ewing, who has tackled questionable judiciary tactics, Hunter S. Thompson, and the U.S.-Mexico border. See it now on youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei_ROza-l_g)

Monday (February 22) you can also catch me on KHOW AM 630 in Denver, when I will be on the Caplis and Silverman show with Craig Silverman from 4 to about 5 p.m. Denver time (http://www.khow.com/pages/caplisandsilverman.html)

Also, Ralph Steadman, who did the cover art for the book, has linked to me on his Web site (http://www.ralphsteadman.com/04news.asp).

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looking forward to reading this book

  2. Thanks, Ron. You don’t happen to know Michael Vick, do you?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

